Effective June 1, 2011, the Florida minimum wage will increase to $7.31 per hour. With this increase, Florida will once again exceed the federal minimum wage, and employers operating within the State will
be required to comply with the higher standard. Also effective on June 1, 2011, those “tipped employees” in Florida who otherwise meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will have to be paid a direct cash wage of at least $4.29 per hour. This is an amount equal to the new Florida minimum of $7.31 per hour, minus the $3.02 hourly tip credit permitted under Florida law (assuming that these employees receive enough in tips to generate
Florida’s minimum wage typically increases at the beginning of a calendar year. However, this
particular increase is the result of a successful legal challenge to the formula used by AWI in calculating the Florida minimum wage for 2010 and 2011. AWI has since issued a revised 2011 “Notice to Employees” poster that Florida employers will be required to post, as of June 1, 2011, in a
conspicuous and accessible place within each establishment where employees are employed. The poster is now available for downloading in English and Spanish from the Agency for Workforce Innovation’s webpage. It is important to note that this poster is in addition to the federal minimum wage poster, rather than serving as a substitute for it. The federal poster remains available from the U.S.
Department of Labor website.